This IS a post about Love Wins

Standard

I finished Love Wins. It took a little longer than expected. Mainly because I had to catch up on The Biggest Loser and there was a new The Office (loved it) and 30 Rock (okay). But I did easily finish the over-discussed book and now feel obliged to write about it because every other blog I read has.

I think I spent more time reading about Love Wins than I actually spent reading the book. And with how un-shocking I found the book,  I have a theory that Rob Bell paid or planted John Piper and the other naysayers just to build up hype. If not, I should just refer to Piper’s ‘farewell’ list when I’m looking for something new to read.

Nonetheless, Rob Bell finds a new way to tell an old story and I really like that. Bell writes like the lovechild of Ernest Hemingway and C.S. Lewis, which draws no complaints from this reader. The book does reach toward an audience that has directly or indirectly been scathed by American Evangelical churches’ theology and it’s because of that that I hope that if my grandchildren ever pick this book up and be dumbfounded by the passages that describe this present theology.

The one complaint I have, the same one I have with all Rob Bell’s books, is that he doesn’t include any references. Not that I’m one to go through and check a bibliography, but it feels like a number of times he quickly comes to a conclusion then continues to build more arguments on it before I’ve had a chance to completely grasp said conclusion.

Conclusion: (if you’re reading this you’ve probably already drawn your own conclusion) worth it.

In other news, be sure to watch the NCAA Division II Basketball championships tomorrow afternoon at 1pm. My own alma mater, Bellarmine University is playing. Go Knights!

One thought on “This IS a post about Love Wins

Leave a Reply

