I only love two things in the world…

Standard

This Rally to Restore Unity sign was inspired by Kenneth the page from 30 Rock who once said, “I only love two things in the world: everybody and television.” I adore Kenneth the page. He might be might favorite 30 Rock character, but that would be tied with Jack, Liz and Tracy.

Now Kenneth’s theology is hilariously different. He studied TV theory at Kentucky Mountain Bible College and believes some crazy things. Just for example:

  • “I don’t vote Republican or Democrat. Choosing is a sin, so I always just write in the Lord’s name.”
  • “I don’t drink coffee, sir. I don’t drink hot liquids of any kind. That’s the devil’s temperature.”
  • “We’re going to party like it’s 1999. Which, according to my Bible, will be in seven years.” 
  • “The weight of a lie makes your soul so heavy that you can’t raise up to Heaven. And you don’t look good in jeans from behind.”

Yet, I love this fictional character, sometimes more than my real Christian brothers and sisters. And with how lighthearted I set out for this post to be, Osama bin Laden was killed and now America is responding. What should we make of this? On one hand, no doubt, the lack of his presence and influence is a good thing and  the world will be a better place because of his death.

But I’m a little dumbfounded by the people filling their streets cheering like their team has just won a national championship, chanting “U! S! A!” in a way eerily similar to the way some middle easterners celebrated 9/11. (Was that in Pakistan? I’m too lazy for fact-checking this morning) Osama’s death doesn’t bring any 9/11 victims back to life. It doesn’t rebuild the twin towers.

Luckily I know I’m not the only one struggling with this. Facebook and Twitter confirm that my friends are reacting in the full spectrum of ways. Some people are somber and not knowing how to react. Some of my friends are jubilant and celebrating. While some of them might warrant a ‘hide from status feed’, perhaps I should acknowledge that there is no correct way to respond, or if there is, I’m not the authority on it.

O God, the Father of all, whose Son commanded us to love our enemies: Lead them and us from prejudice to truth; deliver them and us from hatred, cruelty, and revenge; and in your good time enable us all to stand reconciled before you; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen. (BCP, pg. 816).

Leave a Reply

