Rally to Restore Unity Post- the Sequel

Standard

So I’ve previously posted for Rachel Held Evan’s Rally to Restore Unity, but like all good thoughts, mine have evolved. Please forgive my double-dipping in the mild fame that the #restoreunity gives. 


Brother Andrew was one of the monks I came to love at the Mariya uMama weThemba monastery in Grahamstown, South Africa. With my 26 years of church-going, I would easily call Br. Andrew the best sermon-giver I’ve heard. Not only are his sermons beautifully written, but his Scottish accent is delightful. It’s a perfect storm.


This is all to explain why I keep up with the Holy Cross sermons blog so I can read his latest sermons and this week, this quote was part of his latest sermon: 


Our faith is not a philosophy, not a finely worked out way of walking through life unscathed, sheltered and immersed in one’s own spiritual development. It is rooted in the earthiness of the Incarnation. It is humanity glorified but still human.”


I loved this. I wrote it on a post-it that I now keep in my planner to see when I’m bored. It’s a luxury for Americans and other first-world dwellers to have the time and energy to wonder and care about how and whether our theologies are cohesive. There’s a lot more to this human experience than ascribing to the right doctrine. A WHOLE lot more. 


Why are we so surprised to find people who believe differently than us? Please don’t mistake this for a kumbaya, hugs-cure-everything post, because life gets messy. Loved ones die. Loved ones sin against us. We sing against loved ones. Very messy. I know that. You know that. And most importantly, God knows that. 


I was listening to NPR recently and heard a great quote from a Republican caller who regularly listened to All Things Considered: “No one ever learned anything in an echo-chamber.”  Sometimes the things we do to try and preserve our faith are the same things that smother it. 


I’ve loved every post from this Rally to Restore Unity and I love the idea behind it. Kudos to you, Rachel Held Evans! And rather than seeing it as a progression towards a goal, I see it as a rediscovering our roots, our beautiful, common roots. 



Leave a Reply

